Thursday, August 27, 2009

ECB scraps 50-over format

The ECB scrapped the 50-over format from its domestic cricket calender for the 2010 season.

The England and Wales Cricket Board claimed that ICC will review the future of ODIs after the 2011 World Cup.

The revised domestic structure, finalised after a 12-month detailed discussion with the first-class counties, now comprise four-day matches, enhanced Twenty20 competitions and 40-over leagues, which would be played only on Sundays.

The first-class counties voted 13-5 to adopt a revised domestic structure.
"The board acknowledged that the members of the International Cricket Council will themselves be reviewing the future of 50-over cricket after the 2011 World Cup and felt that an increased programme of England Lions matches should be developed in parallel to the first-class counties decision to revise the domestic structure," ECB Chairman Giles Clarke said in a statement.

"Directors of cricket and coaches reported through their county votes, that the leading one-day team in world cricket, South Africa, do not mirror 50 overs at domestic level and that, provided powerplays and fielding restrictions were the same as the international format, the skills required were very similar," Clarke said.
However, England and England Lions will continue to play 50-over cricket internationally until the ICC review is complete.

The domestic limited-overs competition, to be staged in a 40-over format, will be played mainly on Sunday afternoons throughout the season, consisting of three pools of seven teams with six home and six away matches, progressing to a semi-final and final in September.

The powerplays and fielding restrictions will be the same as per international cricket.

The ECB also decided that the LV County Championship would be a two-division competition of eight home and eight away matches from 2010-2013.

The enhanced Twenty20 competition will be played in pools of nine teams on a geographic basis (North vs South) with the top four teams qualifying for the quarter-finals from each pool from 2010-2013.

Subscribe in a reader

No comments:

Post a Comment