Wednesday, October 21, 2009

NSW cruise into Airtel CL T20 final

New South Wales Blues booked their place in the Airtel CL T20 final with a commanding 79-run win over Victoria Bushrangers in Delhi.

New South Wales skipper Simon Katich won the toss and openers David Warner (48) and Phil Hughes (35) got off to a blistering start, while Katich's 26 ensured a colossal total of 169 for seven on a difficult surface.

Off-spinner Nathan Hauritz, who shared the new ball, claimed two wickets at the start of Victoria's response and Moises Henriques ripped through the middle order with three for 11 as Victorian Bushrangers managed a meagre 90 for nine in reply.

Warner had given NSW a storming start, knocking the new ball around in typically belligerent style.

Shane Harwood and Peter Siddle had begun accurately, but Warner quickly launched into attack and dealt primarily in boundaries throughout his brief, but destructive innings.

The left-hander smashed Harwood for consecutive boundaries in his second over and bludgeoned Siddle for two boundaries and a six over long-off.

NSW made 56 from the powerplay and Warner had contributed 48 in an opening stand worth 62 when he was run out, a mix up with Hughes leaving him stranded yards out of his crease.

There was no let up, however, as Daniel Smith (20) clubbed the first ball he faced for a boundary and Hughes, who had watched while Warner had amassed the runs, turned on an aggressive display.

Victoria sniffed a chance when Hughes fell to Clint McKay and the scoring rate dropped slightly, but Katich's cameo ensured NSW finished with a formidable total.

Hauritz, who shared the new ball with Brett Lee, destroyed Victoria's chase by removing both openers, Rob Quiney and Brad Hodge, for ducks in his first over.

David Hussey (16) and Cameron White (11) were the only batsmen in the top six to reach double figures and attempted a fightback, but their resistance was nipped in the bud.

Both batsmen were snared by Henriques and Victoria were left needing 131 from 56 deliveries when White was dismissed.

Instead, wickets continued to tumble and Henriques returned to claim McKay for his third victim as NSW cantered to victory.

The Teams:

New South Wales: PJ Hughes, DA Warner, DLR Smith†, MC Henriques, SM Katich*, BJ Rohrer, SPD Smith, B Lee, NM Hauritz, SR Clark, DE Bollinger

Victorian Bushrangers: RJ Quiney, BJ Hodge, AC Blizzard, DJ Hussey, CL White*, AB McDonald, MS Wade†, CJ McKay, SM Harwood, JM Holland, PM Siddle

Subscribe in a reader

No comments:

Post a Comment