Thursday, October 8, 2009

Pietersen in Test, ODI squads for SA tour

London: Kevin Pietersen was on Thursday included in England's one-day and Test squads for the upcoming tour of South Africa. The South African-born star batsman is still recovering from surgery on his achilles tendon, which he underwent in July, and will have to prove his fitness before the one-day series begins on November 20.

There was no place in either squad for fast bowler Steve Harmison, who had indicated he would quit international cricket if he missed out, or for Ravi Bopara, Owais Shah and Monty Panesar.

All-rounder Paul Collingwood is included despite currently being sidelined with a torn buttock muscle.

The Test squad, missing Andrew Flintoff following his retirement, contains three uncapped players: Surrey wicketkeeper Steven Davies, Yorkshire leg-spinner Adil Rashid and the Sussex all-rounder Luke Wright.

Test squad: Andrew Strauss (Middlesex, capt), Alastair Cook (Essex, vice-capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Steven Davies (Surrey), Graham Onions (Durham), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Liam Plunkett (Durham), Matt Prior (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex)

One-day squad: Andrew Strauss (Middlesex, capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Alastair Cook (Essex), Joe Denly (Kent), Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex).

Subscribe in a reader

No comments:

Post a Comment