Friday, October 9, 2009

Victoria cruise past Daredevils

Victorian Bushrangers secured an easy seven-wicket victory against Delhi Daredevils after the home side put up a 99-run target for them.

After Amit Mishra disturbed Ron Quiney's timber, Tillakaratne Dilshan knocked off Brad Hodge's middle stump to account for the second wicket.

David Hussey could not contribute much and lost his wicket to Rajat Bhatia.

Earlier, Shane Harwood bowled a precise one to disturb Gautam Gambhir's timber and draw the first blood for Victoria. Daredevils had won the toss and opted to bat.

Virender Sehwag followed soon as Clint McKay took a brilliant catch off his own bowling to dismiss the star batsman.

Owais Shah was back to the pavillion even before putting any mark against his name, with McKay striking again.

Daredevils' wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik also could not stand for long and was run out.

Delhi side's Sri Lankan recruit, Tillakaratne Dilshan, was looking in good form till he lost his off-stump to McKay in an attempt to hit a big one.

Harwood then disturbed Mithun Manhas' timber to account for his second wicket.

Andrew McDonald claimed Rajat Bhatia and Pradeep Sangwan's wickets in the last over to warp up Daredevils' innings at a meagre 98/8.

Delhi Daredevils will seek to capitalise on the experience of legendary Australian paceman Glenn McGrath against Victoria.

Delhi have lost three overseas players - South African AB de Villers, England's Paul Collingwood and Daniel Vettori of New Zealand - in quick succession on the run-up to the cash-rich 12-team event.

McGrath, who replaced Collingwood, and Australian paceman Dirk Nannes could forge a lethal pair, which has the ability to inflict early blows and break the backbone of opponent line-ups.

In the absence of experienced Vettori, Indian leg-spinner Amit Mishra would be a key member of Delhi's bowling armoury, while Rajat Bhatia's medium pace may help Delhi get some breakthroughs.

Paceman Peter Siddle might be the man on whom skipper White would depend highly as the other Victoria bowlers lack the experience of often placid sub-continent pitch.

Delhi Daredevils: G Gambhir*, V Sehwag, TM Dilshan, KD Karthik†, OA Shah, M Manhas, R Bhatia, A Mishra, PJ Sangwan, DP Nannes, A Nehra

Victoria: BJ Hodge, RJ Quiney, AC Blizzard, DJ Hussey, CL White*, AB McDonald, MS Wade†, CJ McKay, SM Harwood, JM Holland, PM Siddle

No comments:

Post a Comment