Monday, November 30, 2009

Australia and West Indies suffer injury blows

West Indies fast bowler Jerome Taylor has been ruled out of the remainder of the tour of Australia because of injuries to his left hip and back.

The 25-year-old bowled only nine overs on the opening day of the first Test, which the Windies lost by an innings.

He will return home, with a decision on a replacement expected on Tuesday.
Meanwhile, uncapped fast bowler Clinton McKay has been called into Australia's squad for the second Test on Friday, following an injury to Ben Hilfenhaus.

Having claimed 5-70 in his first Test on Australian soil as the hosts won the opening match of the series, Hilfenhaus succumbed to a long-term knee injury.

Australian team physiotherapist Alex Kountouris said: "Ben Hilfenhaus has had a widely-reported knee tendon injury that was sore during the recent one-day international series in India and the first Test at the Gabba.

"The demands of Test cricket and the subsequent increased workload have made it harder to manage Ben's injury, so it has been decided that the best course of action is for him to miss the Adelaide Test.

"He will undergo an intense period of rehabilitation over the next two weeks with a view to him being available for selection for the third Test in Perth." [starting on 16 December]

Victoria fast bowler McKay, 26, played in two one-day internationals on the recent tour of India, taking 3-59 on his debut and 0-44 in his second match.

"Clint impressed all with his performances in India with the one-day squad and with his bowling for Victoria in the Sheffield Shield this year," chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch explained.

"We also feel his style of bowling will be well-suited to the conditions in Adelaide, should he be selected in the starting 11."

There was some consolation for the beleaguered West Indians with news that key batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan is expected to be fit for the second Test, having missed the first match due to back trouble.

Australia squad: R Ponting (c), M Clarke, D Bollinger, B Haddin (wkt), N Hauritz, M Hussey, M Johnson, S Katich, C McKay, M North, P Siddle, S Watson.
West Indies squad: C Gayle (c), A Barath, S Benn, D Bravo, S Chanderpaul, N Deonarine, T Dowlin, B Nash, D Ramdin (wkt), R Rampaul, K Roach, D Sammy, R Sarwan, G Tonge.

Subscribe in a reader

No comments:

Post a Comment