Monday, November 9, 2009

Black Caps on the road at 2011 World Cup

New Zealand will be a well-travelled side through the pool stage of the 2011 cricket World Cup hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Six pool games against Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe Canada and Kenya will be played at five different venues although they only venture outside India once.

That match will be against Pakistan at Pallekele in Sri Lanka on March 8.

They open their campaign against Kenya in Chennai on February 20, followed by four-time champions Australian in Nagpur on February 25 and Zimbabwe in Ahmedabad on March 4.

The pool phase ends with two games in Mumbai, against Canada on March 13 and Sri Lanka on March 18.

The top four teams from the seven-team pool will advance to straight quarterfinals, starting on March 23.

The final will be played at the renovated Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on April 2.

In all, 13 venues will be used in the 43-day tournament.

India is hosting 29 of the tournament's 49 matches.

Pakistan was stripped of hosting rights over security concerns. They will play all their group matches in Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh and India play the first match of the tournament in Dhaka on February 19, two days after the opening ceremony in the same city.

NZ's 2011 World Cup fixtures
v Kenya, Feb. 20 at Nagpur, India
v Australia, Feb. 25 at Nagpur, India
v Zimbabwe, March 4 at Ahmedabad, India
v Pakistan, March 8 at Pallekele, Sri Lanka
v Canada, March 13 at Mumbai, India
v Sri Lanka, March 18 at Mumbai, India


Quarterfinal 1
March 23 at Dhaka, Bangladesh

Quarterfinal 2
March 24 at Colombo, Sri Lanka

Quarterfinal 3
March 25 at Dhaka, Bangladesh

Quarterfinal 4
March 26 at Ahmedabad, India


Semifinal 1
March 29 at Colombo, Sri Lanka

Semifinal 2
March 30 at Mohali, India

April 2 at Mumbai, India

Subscribe in a reader

No comments:

Post a Comment