Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Super Sangakkara powers SL to 215

Skipper Kumar Sangakkara led Sri Lanka's run riot in Nagpur with a scintillating 78 runs. India will now need to score at more than ten an over to reach their target of 216.

In front a full house, India chose to chase in the Twenty20 game in Nagpur.

India have a very strong batting line-up but they will miss the services of Harbhajan Singh and Sreesanth in the bowling department. The debutant Ashok Dinda, who plays for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, has edged out Sudeep Tyagi to get a spot in the playing eleven.

For their part, Sri Lanka have filled their side with allrounders. They have replaced Ajantha Mendis with the debutant offspinner Muthumudalige Pushpakumara and have brought in Dilhara Fernando for Chanaka Welegedera, who played in the Test series. They have another new face in the XI, allrounder Chinthaka Jayasinghe.

Dew has been a factor in some of the domestic games on this ground but it hasn't been a constant feature and it would be interesting to see whether it will play any part today.

India: 1 Gautam Gambhir, 2 Virender Sehwag, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Rohit Sharma, 7 Yusuf Pathan, 8 Pragyan Ojha, 9 Ashok Dinda, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Ashish Nehra.

Sri Lanka: 1 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2 Sanath Jayasuriya, 3 Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), 4 Mahela Jayawardene, 5 Chamara Kapugedera, 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Chinthaka Jayasinghe, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Muthumudalige Pushpakumaara, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Dilhara Fernando.

Subscribe in a reader

No comments:

Post a Comment